top of page

Day 7 - The Beatitudes

Matthew summarizes much of the teachings of Jesus in the Sermon in the mount. He begins with what is known as the Beatitudes. It essentially recounts the blessedness of behaving rightly. The term blessed is not just God’s blessing, but the state of experiencing blessedness in one's life. 



Matthew 5:1-12

Introduction to the Sermon on the Mount

Now when Jesus saw the crowds, he went up on a mountainside and sat down. His disciples came to him, and he began to teach them.

The Beatitudes

He said:

“Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are those who mourn,
for they will be comforted.
Blessed are the meek,
for they will inherit the earth.
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they will be filled.
Blessed are the merciful,
for they will be shown mercy.
Blessed are the pure in heart,
for they will see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they will be called children of God.
10 Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

11 “Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me.12 Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.


1.How are the first two beatitudes linked? What should we mourn about? What does it mean to be poor in spirit? What is their reward? How does it apply to us?

2.What does the third beatitude mean?

3.What does the fourth beatitude say? Remember, that in the Hebrew, ‘righteousness’ often meant salvation. 

4.What should be our character according to vs 7-9? What are the rewards they can expect?

5.Vs 10-12 may be a later addition making 7 beatitudes into 8. How should we react to persecution?

bottom of page